Posted in Books

Travel Interlude: The Peak District, Pride & Prejudice (& Zombies)

While I was back in the UK in August I was lucky enough to spend a few days hanging out with my best friend in the Peak District. We walked across moors, along ridges and up and down hills, got suddenly drenched, drank pints of cider, were dried out by glorious sunshine, ate ice cream, played board games and went to the pub. It was basically a perfect holiday.

keira-knightley
Keira Knightley as Elizabeth Bennet at Stanage Edge in the 2005 adaptation of Pride & Prejudice

As it happened we stayed near Stanage Edge, the location for Keira Knightley’s walk along the cliffs as Elizabeth Bennet in the 2005 adaptation of Pride & Prejudice. With that fresh in my mind, on my flight home I couldn’t resist watching the new adaptation of the Quirk Classic; Pride & Prejudice & Zombies. Somewhat inspired, here are my quick reviews of Jane Austen’s original and the various iterations I’ve read or seen.

One side note; I confess I have never watched the BBC adaptation from 1995 which I believe some consider ‘the classic take’, though as far as I can tell that’s mostly for Colin Firth emerging from a small lake looking rather glorious in a wet white shirt.

I’m sure the acting’s great too.

 

1] Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

I always thought I wasn’t really the type to enjoy period drama. I hated reading Wuthering Heights at school and had this idea that the genre consisted of passive, submissive women sitting around doing embroidery while discussing potential husbands. Or else being mad.

So when I finally got around to reading Pride & Prejudice I was genuinely surprised how readily I identified with Elizabeth Bennet.

img_4687-2
Looking back along the ridge to Mam Tor, Peak District

Perhaps it’s just me but I sometimes feel that my school history classes focused so much on the doings of men that I forget strong, independent women didn’t first appear in the ’60s. Of course there were some notable exceptions; Boudicea, Cleopatra, and Queen Elizabeth I come to mind. However, I still find I need reminding that ‘ordinary’ (non-royal) women could be just as provocative, outspoken and intelligent as they are now.

Of course this is a work of fiction, but it was created by a female author who dreamt up  characters that still impact the literary world today.

 

2] Pride & Prejudice [2005 film]

A fairly straightforward adaptation with a good cast that I think manages to capture the main plot points and translate the tone nicely. I wouldn’t say it breaks any new ground but it doesn’t need to, the themes are laid out without being forced and the interplay between characters feels genuine.

img_4624-2
The Sun falling behind clouds, Peak District

I don’t really have much else to say, if you liked the book then you’ll probably enjoy this film version even if (as is frequently the case) it can’t quite capture the full impact of the original.

 

3] Pride & Prejudice & Zombies [book, by Quirk Classics]

While the film version above brings nothing new to the adaptation this book obviously does the opposite!

That said, it sticks remarkably close to the original plot considering the major adjustment of adding hordes of zombies. The themes are maintained, even exaggerated as the characters face more extreme situations that push them further into their positions.

Perhaps not one for the literary purists but I really enjoyed this revision and would heartily recommend!

img_4988
Mam Tor, Peak District

 

4] Pride & Prejudice & Zombies [2016 film]

I love zombie movies. It’s weird because I usually hate horror with the creepy music and the fear that comes from knowing the monster(s)/murderer/menace is hiding close by. Usually you’ll find me holding a cushion to my eyes, humming or jumping up to break the tension.

Unfortunately this film could have done with a few more (or any) of those moments. Admittedly, watching it on a plane probably doesn’t do it justice but the danger definitely wasn’t immediate enough to really sell the crazy concept.

pand-p-and-z-poster
The poster for 2016’s Pride + Prejudice + Zombies

The plot wasn’t what I was expecting given I’d read the book but it kept enough key moments and themes that I got along with it just fine. After all this isn’t really a film you’re supposed to take entirely seriously!

The female characters are absolutely kick-arse, even the foolish and naive Kitty, so it’s a shame the director reverts at times to long lingering shots of knives being sheathed in thigh bound garters and the like. It feels unnecessary and frankly insulting, don’t worry guys, these girls are hardcore martial artists but also sexy.

img_4989
Walking on to Back Tor, Peak District

Despite that I still found it a lot of fun, the cast is great and mostly just seem to be really enjoying themselves. If you’re in the mood for a silly but entertaining Regency x monster romp then grab some popcorn and settle in.

Of course if you prefer long walks in the countryside then I absolutely recommend wandering the Peak District instead!

 

 

 

Author:

Female, 30, love to read. Obviously. Also love to travel, eat chocolate, drink cheap beer and play board games.

8 thoughts on “Travel Interlude: The Peak District, Pride & Prejudice (& Zombies)

  1. You captured my thoughts on these ‘Pride and Prejudice’ iterations perfectly. For real, I’ve never seen the BBC one either. I couldn’t believe how close to the original Seth Grahame-Smith’s version was to the original either. That left me with great respect for his abilities as an author.

    Like

      1. I’ve read Seth Grahame Smith’s ‘Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter’ and was impressed by how much the tone sounded like a journal from the 1800’s. I like PP&Z more, but I still thought it was a lot of fun. I’ve just picked up his ‘Unholy Night’ but I haven’t read that one yet.

        That’s all I’m aware he’s written but this makes me think I should look into it. There may be a new book I’ve missed!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this post! I too am a huge fan of the 2005 adaptation of P&P! I did not read P&P and Zombies, but I did watch the movie and thought it was entertaining.

    It did break my heart to hear you didn’t enjoy Wuthering Heights, but I’m not surprised. I think I am in the minority with my adoration of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment